If a volunteer declines a request there is a notification sent to either the "reports to" person on his profile or on this specific position. This means that all this "reports to" people must be configured. In a big church with many volunteers, this is a huge admin overhead.

My experience is that most of the time the person who does the scheduling wants to be notified. So this should be default behaviour without doing any configuration at all.

I roster someone, I get notified if he/she declines. For exceptions you can still add a "reports to" person...