I find when setting up a role for a volunteer this takes a little longer - two separate edit and save steps. If the Access Permissions box could be moved to a location where Departments are managed, this would be handy.
Also, this would simplify the main profile of a person. We sometimes move the Access Permissions down further so it isn't awkwardly up with the contact details. This compromises its position as well.